Professor Joseph E. Harris receives the Ephraim Williams Medal

Neil Roberts, Professor of Africana Studies, and President Maud S. Mandel present the Ephraim Williams Medal to Professor Joseph E. Harris, Williams’ first Black professor with tenure and first Chair of the Afro-American Studies Program, currently the Africana Studies Department. The Ephraim Williams Medal is awarded to a non-alumnus who has demonstrated exceptional service and loyalty to Williams. This is only the fifteenth presentation of the medal.