Joy James

Photo of Joy James

Ebenezer Fitch Professor of Humanities

Hollander Hall Rm 113


B.A. St. Mary's University, San Antonio (1980)
M.A. Fordham University, International Politics (1982)
Ph.D. Fordham University, Political Philosophy (1987)


Professor of the Humanities and professor of political science.

James is author of: Shadowboxing: Representations of Black Feminist PoliticsTranscending the Talented Tenth: Black Leaders and American IntellectualsResisting State Violence: Radicalism, Gender and Race in U.S. Culture. Her edited books include: Warfare in the American HomelandThe New Abolitionists: (Neo) Slave Narratives and Contemporary Prison WritingsImprisoned IntellectualsStates of ConfinementThe Black Feminist Reader (co-edited with TD Sharpley-Whiting); and The Angela Y. Davis Reader. James is completing a book on the prosecution of 20th-century interracial rape cases, tentatively titled “Memory, Shame & Rage.” She has contributed articles and book chapters to journals and anthologies addressing feminist and critical race theory, democracy, and social justice.

James is a senior research fellow at the John L. Warfield Center for African and African American Studies at the University of Texas, Austin, where she is co-curator of digital repositories for the Warfield Center and the Harriet Tubman Literary Circle, an educational nonprofit organization.

She is the recipient of grants, fellowships or awards from: the Fletcher Foundation; the Rhode Island Council for the Humanities; the Rockefeller Foundation; the Bellagio Fellowship; the Aaron Diamond Foundation/Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture; the Ford Foundation; and the Gustavus Myers Human Rights Award.